The Perseverance Rover Landing

Jazzy

Forum Admin
Joined
Jun 27, 2016
Messages
64,187
Location
Vermont
"Perseverance will touch down on Mars on Thursday, Feb. 18, 2021, at approximately 12:30 p.m. PST (3:30 p.m. EST). During landing, the rover plunges through the thin Martian atmosphere, with the heat shield first, at a speed of over 12,000 mph (about 20,000 kph). A parachute and powered descent slow the rover down to about 2 mph (three-fourths of a meter per second). A large sky crane then lowers the rover on three bridle cords to land softly on six wheels. Landing on Mars is hard. Read all about the rover’s harrowing entry, descent and landing.

Tune in to Watch Live The NASA TV broadcast from Mission Control starts at 11:15 a.m. PST/2:15 p.m. EST.

More

Are you planning on watching this?
 

Snog

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2016
Messages
1,758
Pre-landing live stream has been live for a while now...

 

Snog

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2016
Messages
1,758
Perseverance has landed. First images have been received.

From landing camera...
mars1.png

Higher resolution images should follow in the coming days.
 

Beaky

blah
Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Messages
4,181
Location
uk
fixed it

image0.jpg
 
Top Bottom