The Night Sky

Jazzy

Forum Admin
Joined
Jun 27, 2016
Messages
55,743
Location
Vermont
I love star gazing and I thank you for this very informative thread.
 
J

Justbec

I do too and here in Minnesota there is so much sky and so many stars :)
 

Jazzy

Forum Admin
Joined
Jun 27, 2016
Messages
55,743
Location
Vermont
I do too and here in Minnesota there is so much sky and so many stars :)
Same here but it was overcast and I couldn't see this: For the first time in 70 years the 'Strawberry' Full Moon during the Summer Solstice, June 20th, 2016
Did you get to see it?
 
J

Justbec

No not really.. To me it just had a bit of an orange/pink tint. It was pretty but nothing like that video.
 
D

DaveM

Every time we seems to really have something big to see it rains my side :(
 
J

Justbec

I hear you. I never got to see anything when we lived in New York because of the 'light pollution'. Out here in Minnesota you can see forever.
 
J

Justbec

The moon reaches first quarter on July 12 at 0:52 UTC. At U.S. time zones, that means the first quarter moon occurs on July 11 at 8:52 p.m. EDT, 7:52 p.m. CDT, 6:52 p.m. MDT and 5:52 p.m. PDT.

At quarter moon, the moon’s disk appears half-illuminated in sunshine and half-engulfed in the moon’s own shadow.

The lunar terminator – the shadow line dividing the lunar day from the lunar night – shows you where it’s sunrise on the moon as it waxes from new moon to full moon.
 
Top Bottom