Doesn't this defeat the point of 'Snapchat'?For all you Snapchat lovers, a new day has come.
You’ll soon be able to save photos and videos sent to you on the app.
Yes, that’s right, Snapchat will no longer be focused on just a series of ‘snaps’ that disappear after a few seconds.
A new feature called Memories will allow you to hold on to your photos and videos for longer.
Users will be able to access all their saved photos and videos within the app by swiping up from the camera screen, a move away from it’s motto of ‘snaps’ that disappear.
There will be an option to send saved photos to friends or add them to their Snapchat story long after they’re taken and a password-protected section called My Eyes Only for private photos.
The new update will use image-recognition technology to categorise images so that users can search for snaps saved by date, location or even image contents.
Any pictures sent more than 24-hours after they are taken will be flagged up to the user.
The new update will be rolled out to users over the next month and they’ll get a message when it’s ready to use.